Transcripts of full meetings of the council.

I am Maxine C. Harvey, President of the Philadelphia Alumnae Chapter. Delta Sigma Theta Sorority celebrates 100 years of service, scholarship, and sisterhood, founded in 1913 by 22 young Howard University college students. Delta Sigma Theta Sorority has more than 250,000 members and 1,000 chapters worldwide.

Notable Philadelphians are, just to name a few, Dr. Sadie T.M. Alexander, economist and lawyer, who served as the first national President of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority; Judge Juanita Kidd Stout, activist for whom the Criminal Justice Center was renamed in her honor; Dr. Constance E. Clayton, former Superintendent of Philadelphia schools, has in her honor an endowed professorship at the University of Pennsylvania Graduate School of Education; and Lila B. Green, founder of Ivy League School and philanthropist.

Philadelphia Alumnae Chapter chartered in 1927 follows the mission and programs of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority to educate and participate in the establishment of public policy and to highlight issues and provide solutions for problems in our community.

On behalf of the Philadelphia Alumnae Chapter, we thank City Council sorors Councilwomen Marian Tasco and Blondell Reynolds Brown for this prestigious honor.

I now introduce to you Sandra Brockington Gould, President of the Quaker City Alumnae Chapter.

Keyboard shortcuts

j previous speech k next speech